Brief Biography



2015                               Habilitation, University of Potsdam

2009                              PhD in Political Science, University of Potsdam

2004                              Magister in Political Science and North American Studies,

                                       Freie Universität Berlin, University of Potsdam, UNC Chapel Hill


Academic Positions


since 4/2019                 DFG Heisenberg Fellowship, Freie Universität Berlin


10/2015-3/2019            Visiting Professor, Otto Suhr Institute for Political Science, Freie Universität  



9/2011-9/2015              Assistant Professor (Wissenschaftlicher Assistent), International Studies, 

                                      University of Erlangen-Nürnberg


9/2010-5/2011              Fritz Thyssen Fellowship, Weatherhead Center for International Affairs,  

                                      Harvard University


4/2009-9/2010             Acting Juniorprofessor for North American Foreign and Security Policy (W-1),

                                       Department of Political Science, John-F.-Kennedy-Institute for North American

                                       Studies, Free University Berlin


2/2006-3/2009             Research Fellow, Transatlantic Program, German Council on Foreign Relations  



7/2007                           Visiting Fellow, San Francisco State University, USA


9/2001-4/2002             Research Assistant, School of Government, University of North Carolina at          

                                       Chapel Hill






2019-2014                     Heisenberg Fellowship, funded by the German Research Council (DFG)


2010-2011                     Postdoctoral Fellowship, funded by the Fritz Thyssen Stiftung


2009-2010                     Research Fellowship, funded by the Stiftung Neue Verantwortung


2007                               Research Fellowship, funded by the Fulbright Commission


2001                               DAAD Student Scholarship





2018                               Ernst Otto Czempiel Award of the Leibnitz Peace Research Institute Frankfurt  

                                        for the best postdoctoral monograph in the field of Peace Research 


2014                               Best Paper Award of the German Political Science Association (DVPW), IR



2014                               Teaching Award, Department of Economics and Social Sciences, University of  



2002                               Dean‘s List of Academic Excellence, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill





2015-2017                   German Research Foundation (DFG): Constructivist Emotion Research. The      

                                      Power Potential of Emotion and Language in International Status Conflicts,      

                                      Grant Amount: 32, 944 Euro


2013                              DAAD-Travel Grant, ISA Convention 2014, Toronto


2012                              DAAD-Travel Grant, ISA Convention 2013, San Francisco


2011                              DAAD-Travel Grant, International Conference on "Regional Integration",




2011-2012                   Fritz Thyssen Stiftung: Friendship and International Relations. Conceptions and

                                      Practices (in cooperation with Harvard University), Grant amount: 20,000 Euro


2009                              Heinrich Böll Foundation/Canadian Embassy: The Arctic: Governance,  

                                       Development and International Cooperation (in cooperation wth Dr. David      

                                       Bosold), Grant amount: 17,000 Euro


2006-2009                    German Marshall Fund of the United States: Understanding US Foreign Policy  

                                       and Renewing the Transatlantic Partnership (in cooperation with Prof. Dr.

                                       Eberhard Sandschneider), Grant amount: 240,000 US Dollar


2006-2008                    Fritz Thyssen Foundation: Workshop Series on Transatlantic Relations (in

                                       cooperation with Prof. Dr. Eberhard Sandschneider), Grant Amount: 17,600 Euro


2006-2008                     Doctoral Research Grant, funded by the Friedrich Ebert Foundation





German Political Science Association (DVPW)

International Studies Association (ISA)

European International Studies Association (EISA)

British International Studies Association (BISA)

ECPR Standing Group on International Relations (SGIR)

Italian Standing Group on International Relations (SGRI)



Invited Reviewer 


American Political Science Review

European Journal of International Relations

Review of International Studies

British Journal of Political Science


International Theory

International Relations

International Studies Quarterly

International Studies Review

International Journal of Politics, Culture, and Society

Cooperation and Conflict

Foreign Policy Analysis

Global Society

Journal of Global Security Studies

Journal of International Relations and Development

Oxford University Press

Political Psychology

SAGE Publications 

Palgrave Macmillan 

Manchester University Press

Third World Quarterly

Zeitschrift für Internationale Beziehungen

Zeitschrift für Friedens- und Konfliktforschung

Die Friedens-Warte: Journal of International Peace and Organization

Zeitschrift für Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik

Amerikastudien/American Studies

InterDiscipline: Journal of History and Sociology


Leibnitz Association

German Research Foundation/Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)

German Foundation of Peace Research

Israel Science Foundation

Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes

Fritz Thyssen Foundation

Fulbright Commission

German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)

Friedrich Ebert Foundation

Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung